Happiness @ work is possible

Posted on August 21, 2007. Filed under: Happiness |

About an year back I would have been skeptical of the headline had I read it somewhere. Sure enough I did have some “happy days” at work and the glowing feeling of accomplishment but it’s was not THE way of life if you ask me.

That was then, today I subscribe fully to the concept of happiness @ work and take my job as Happiness Manager very seriously at MangoSpring.(We were inspired by Alexander Kjerulf).

Happiness@work happens when – There is enough meaningful work for everyone to do .

1. Because there is enough and more meaningful work for everyone, there is a lesser sense of insecurity amongst employees.
2. It helps to have a strong and clear vision for the team/organization. It makes everyone feel more aligned and gives a direction.
3. Of course there has to be an open culture. What it means is that everyone feels free to say what they want without the fear of any repercussions. The management encourages everyone to think and doesn’t frown when a few employees have opinions other than theirs. This just helps fine tune the solution and also ensures that everyone is on the same page and agrees to the course of action.
4. Because there is an open culture and loads to do with a clear direction defined, everyone feels more charged and energetic on the job.
5. As a result each individual makes a difference, and there is no office politics.
6. Organized fun times, brings the team together and well ensures that everyone has fun. Who wouldn’t want fun??

We at MangoSpring have been lucky in the sense that we are a startup, so the team was entirely new and we could decide on the road we wanted to take without any baggage whatsoever. But no reason why other teams can’t reach this state of nirvana.

All of it boils down to one thing I guess, HR making a concentrated effort across the board.

Terms like Happiness Manager and Chief Entertainment Manager are gaining more acceptance these days. Just like families that eat together stay together, teams that have fun together stay together. Not a bad analogy πŸ™‚

Yes, how productive we are on a particular day somewhere boils down to how sunny we are feeling. However if you ask me I wouldn’t say it’s entirely true. I have bad days when I have to literally force myself to work and bad days when I have wanted to immerse myself at work. But in both the cases what has helped is a supportive work environment, a place where I feel like going back to and where I don’t have any Monday morning blues πŸ™‚ . So I don’t buy into Happiness at work :A myth to be punctured.

A good quote I would want to sign off with – There is no key to happiness, the door is always open…

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Happiness @ work is possible”

RSS Feed for Walking down the path of Organization 2.0 Comments RSS Feed

Congratulations! I always think it’s fantastic to see yet another company join the happy ranks πŸ™‚

I also agree completely that your productivity depends 100% on your happiness at work. In a time where many companies are focusing entirely too much on rules, regulations, processes, systems and organization to increase efficiency, the simple truth is, that how good you feel at your job determines how good you are.

Kudos!

Thanks for coming by and leaving a comment at CheerfulMonk.

The best job I ever had was a small group that was expanding, with a leader who encouraged enthusiasm and innovation. Some of us women took charge of the social activities, and he was very supportive. It worked because, as you pointed out, there was more than enough work for everyone. It was exciting to go to work.


Where's The Comment Form?

  • My tag Clouds

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

